We would like to introduce you to Hannah…

Blogging for Geek Girls is a huge leap for me as I’ve never ventured into anything like this! Before I jumped into writing about all the ideas floating around in my head, I wanted to give you some idea of who I am. As a teenager, I struggled with finding who I was, however cliché it may seem! Everyone else seemed to know what they liked and what they were good at straight away, whereas I didn’t have a clue.

It wasn’t until I headed into my GSCE’s that I really started to discover myself, not necessarily who I was at the time, but who I wanted to be. I already knew the arty subjects weren’t my forte, neither was wishy washy style of English. I liked facts, following logic, knowing something happened for a reason! In comes science, the light at the end of the crazy, self doubting tunnel of my teen years.

It challenged me, actually made me think and work hard for answers. In that moment, I decided to pursue a career in science. That brings us to now, my first year as a Forensic Anthropology student at LJMU. I always saw forensics as a male subject, probably due to the abundance of CSI shows often sporting a male dominated cast with protagonists such as Gil Grissom, Mac Taylor, Horatio Caine, naming but a few. With that assumption in mind, I was adamant that my friend and I would be the only females on the course.

Walking into our first anthropology lecture feeling nervous, sick and, well pretty much the emotions you’d expect! As we looked out onto the sea of students, I was surprised. Out of around 35+ students on the course, there were only 4 guys. The forensic science course is male dominated, so why the switch in forensic anthropology? Thinking about it for days after, I came up with a theory. Bones. When the show came out in 2005, it was one of the first crime dramas to show a female lead, as well as a cast with equal male and female scientists. Over time, the show had become immensely popular and, as it was based on the books written by real forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs, it inspired young girls everywhere.

Whilst speaking to friends on from my course, I realised that although Bones was a favourite show of most of us, it subconsciously guided us towards our course. None of us turned around one day and said ‘I will study forensic anthropology because Temperance Brennan did in Bones!’ It had become part of our routine. Week-in, week-out, it subconsciously allowed us to see ourselves in that situation, not necessarily as a forensic anthropologist, but as a woman in a respected position.

Chat to Hannah about anything #Science @morganhannaar or @lpoolgirlgeeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

