“What do you love about working in the Tech sector?” #LGG asks…

Our main aim is to inspire women to have careers in tech. So we wanted to ask our favourite people (including our LGG followers) what their favourite thing about working in the tech industry was…. so here are your answers!

“I love working in the tech industry because its a way for me to be creative, yet make a living from doing something I love. Everyday I get to create new designs for different projects, always learning new ways to use softwares to make it all happen! I love how you can constantly improve yourself in this industry, as everything is always moving forward, bringing with it new inspiration.”

Rebecca Rush, Junior web developer – Elephant Digital

“Growing up I and a few friends (sadly no girls) were interested in how computers worked despite limited resources (There were only 1.3 million IP addresses including my own on the Internet when we got our .net connection at home.) we built and uploaded web pages to personal web pages that our ISPs provided, trained games then uploaded them to bulletin boards, swapped 1440KB floppy discs in school to share sprites and programs we had written but it all took enormous amounts of trial (understanding) and error (knowledge) to do so. Since then I’ve stayed in tech because of people. The tools techies use are always maturing but more people than ever are passionate to understand and interested to know how to use them and I enjoy helping folks do just that, then just maybe, a whole bunch of people are happier as a result. And that’s why I love working in tech!”

Mark Sabino, Research student at LJMU and volunteer

“I’ve always had a keen interest in technology, and enjoy reading about the latest trends and developments for the web.
I love working in the technology sector as it’s constantly changing and evolving. There is always something new and interesting to learn. It’s great to get the opportunity to work with talented people who love what they do, and there is an excellent community of people who are more than happy to share their knowledge and ideas.
The technology sector is a growing industry, and it’s an exciting time to be a part of it!”

Sue McMahon – Web Developer

“On a very basic personal level I love puzzles. I love being given a complex problem to solve and a set of tools to solve it with. I also love the level of independence my career has given me, and the opportunities it’s afforded me to learn from so many smart and creative people. I love feeling like my knowledge is useful and my time is valuable – I’ve felt that way more frequently since becoming a software engineer than I have in any previous job”

Alexandra Hindley – LGG teacher and Software Engineer at Bandcamp

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 13.00.00

 

 

Lyndsey – Graphic Designer

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 13.01.08

 

 

Kev – Barclays Digital Eagle

“Being part of the Tech industry is awesome, you are part of the future! It is where creative, forward-thinking minds are and that is a great environment to be part of.

I have been working in the Tech industry for 11 years now but I have always been involved in the sector in a way. At school we were taught basic programming which got my attention so I decided to study computer science at university.

As a software developer, I enjoy getting a new piece of work and explore the different ways in which it can be done. It is a very challenging job but that for me that is part of the fun. You are constantly researching, learning, creating and innovating. And you don’t have to be a geek to get into the tech industry! You just need a curious mind and the need to know how things work.

Personally, I like to think that what I do makes a difference. That I am helping people to do their jobs more efficiently and enjoyable and that is thanks to the software I develop.”

Maria Viejo, Senior Software Dev – Angel Solutions

Leave a Reply

