Leading Ladies

Leading ladies is a new and regular feature on the Liverpool Girl Geeks blog, which we hope will inspire the next generation of women to follow their dreams and get geeky. 

For the first feature in the series we caught up with Lorna Mills, to find out more about what it’s like to work in the automation industry for robot programmers. While we sipped our locally brewed ‘love lane’ beers, Lorna explained a little more to us about her daily work:linkedin pic

“I’m a co-owner of an industrial automation company and I think it would be fantastic to see more women involved in this industry. I also run a positive education and lifelong learning company. We aim to create a positive education culture and also foster a love of lifelong learning for all.”

Wow. So you’re an entrepreneur with a passion for tech and learning then?

“Yes, I’m a lover of tech, but I didn’t have the opportunities to get involved in tech subjects when I was younger, so I came to it later in my life. I would love to inspire and encourage people to follow their interests in this area and make the most of the great opportunities which are more readily available now.”

So why did you decide to work in the tech / automation industry?

“I’d always worked in office jobs, but my husband worked in factories and we noticed a skills shortage in the automation industry for robot programmers. I’ve always loved tech and although I don’t do robot programming myself, I find it really interesting to hear all about the developments in manufacturing. It seemed like an opportunity we should pursue, so we just went for it.”

Who inspires you the most?

“Anyone who follows their passions, keeps learning and inspires others to make a positive change. They don’t need to be famous!”

What motivates you to get up in the morning?

“Lots of things! But with this role, I like to know interesting, rewarding and challenging work is being provided for people. The advancements in new technology are endless and amazing. It’s good to be a part of that and it’s certainly never boring.”

How do you find working in a mostly male sector?

“I can honestly say that I’ve had no problems at all working in a mostly male sector. So far, it has been enjoyable. It would be fantastic to see more females in this sector reaching their goals though.”

Any top tips or words of encouragement for any female starting out in digital / tech?

“Follow your interests and passions, embrace change and see challenges as a learning experience! Get involved with organisations such as Liverpool Girl Geeks and Young Rewired State. Oh, and, follow tech blogs and social media accounts to get an idea of the types of opportunities out there.”

What do you like to do to unwind? 

“Volunteering with local organisations and learning something new in the process. I like to keep busy!”

What’s your geeky pleasure? (keep it clean!) 

“Reading about developments in Psychology, Science and Technology. I sometimes take online courses through sites such as coursera, to help keep my knowledge up to date. I’ve been known to occasionally embark on an online coding course for a short while.”

Well, we don’t know about any of you, but we feel inspired to get out there and learn something new. Have you checked out our latest coding courses? Hope to see you there…

Leading ladies is written by Jo Morfee, humble blogger and digital enthusiast @ LGG

Leave a Reply

